Keeping It Real and Rich: Why I talk so much

Sakina  speaking at UVA

The talk at the University of Virginia went very well, in my opinion. It’s always a good session when the audience talks back to me. I want to learn about you and I want you to learn about money. So, I will tell you  all I need to about how much money I got, how I got it and how I plan to get more of it. I will also tell you the ugly of the situation. It ain’t all green and rosey, of course. My spouse and I differ on money matters. We have been married for 9 years and I have learned to love him for who he is and how he has come to view money. More importantly I have learned to continue to view money the way I do despite (much harsher word than necessary here, but can’t think of anything more gentile in the rush of writing this) his views.

After my session last night, one of the students commented that they were surprised at how much I divulged in my Keeping It Rich with Sakina personal finance talk about me and my husband’s differing views. My answer lies in some basics. The reason why it’s called ‘with Sakina’ is because you get a lot of me! I explained to him that me, my family, friends and especially my husband all know and love the fact that I am intense when it comes to saving money and building credit. And they also realize that I believe that one of the main reasons why so many are ignorant to how money works is because they believe it’s a secret (kept from them). I don’t want anymore secrets about money being kept from college students or minorities. If someone would have told me some of the secrets that I share, then I would be so much further along today. I’ve come a long way, but imagine where I could be if I had a five or ten year head start on saving my money.

So, if you hear me say that me and my husband have no shared accounts, don’t be alarmed. If you hear me say that my mom didn’t teach me anything about money, don’t be alarmed. It’s true. I’m keeping it real and rich at the same time. It doesn’t mean I don’t love the people in my life because I’m in touch with a few things and act accordingly. I just want you to get in touch with a few things and act accordingly too.

Keeping it rich,
Sakina

Follow me on twitter.com/keepingitrich
facebook.com/sakinaspruell

 

3 thoughts on “Keeping It Real and Rich: Why I talk so much

  1. my husband and I are like the both of you, being also married 9 yrs, I simply gave up and realized that I will be the CEO of the money. i used to get mad when he did not view money the way I did. He is a good saver and shun debt, the problem is he thinks investing is too risky and insurance is a waste of money….arrrgggh

  2. Marie, thanks so much for sharing that story. You have inspired me to continue to be open. I’m glad to see I’m not alone and that my message is giving a voice to many of us who struggle with the same issues.

  3. Thanks for sharing so much of yourself!! This is important information for our community to understand!! You are doing great work!!

Leave a Reply

