It’s About More Than Money: It’s About YOU

You are the most important person in your life! This is what I want to scream to every woman in my path that gives me that you-know-I-can’t-take-a-day-for-myself look. Women, we have to take care of our money, our minds and our bodies. Like they say on the airplane, ‘make sure your mask is securely placed before helping others.’

I take this advice all the way to the bank, literally. My accounts are in my own name; my house is in my own name; my cars are in my own name. I need to be financially secure, with or without hubby or the kids. As you can imagine, managing my income and all these accounts can be challenging. Keeping funds separately from my husband can be emotionally draining. The good book says two equals one but my math doesn’t equate that way. This has caused me to do a lot of soul searching. Sometimes, all that soul-searching doesn’t leave enough time for wardrobe-searching. In times like these, I realize that I need more than just money to complete me. Hence, I realized that Keeping It Rich, involves a few more elements.

That’s why I call on the help of Dr. Janet Taylor for mental sanity, Fashionista Nichelle Pace for fashion sense and relationship expert Zara Green for emotional guidance. Keeping It Rich for me defines “rich” as a lifestyle set by me that encompasses wealth, health and appearance.

As Janet Taylor said recently in a Today Show episode about Mom Hair, “Moms are busy but we also are women and we want to look good.” Ain’t that the truth! I held an extra 30 pounds after the pregnancy of each child and I wore a baseball cap and a sweat suit for one year AFTER my kids’ births.

I made sure I saved enough money for a down payment on a home big enough for them and I made sure I started to fund their college education (minimally, but it was a start). But I didn’t do a thing about my looks so I felt badly and I looked badly. “How dreadful!” as Dwight from Real Housewives of Atlanta would say.

Four years ago, when my daughter turned two, I decided to truly live a ‘rich’ life. I got some therapy to help me with my stresses, got a fashionista to do my wardrobe shopping and I shed the 30 pounds of baby fat.

I don’t share this story for me, but I hope I share it for someone who is struggling to find themselves. Do you know YOU? Do you spend enough time on YOU?

I invite YOU to join me at All About You Day, Mother’s Day weekend, Saturday, May 8th, 2010 at the Schomburg Center in New York.  Please use this password for complimentary registration: AAYOU

Hope to see YOU soon!

Keeping it rich,

Sakina

Leave a Reply

